Pirates Dot the Lombardi Award Watch List


The Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List was released earlier this week and it includes a number of players from the North Carolina region. The Lombardi Award is given to the top lineman or linebacker that lines up within five yards of the ball. So it goes to any offensive lineman, defensive lineman, or linebacker. That is a lot of ground to cover. Because of this, there are quite a few names on this list that appeared on the Rimington, Outland, or Bednarik Watch Lists previous to this.

More from East Carolina Pirates

The North Carolina region Lombardi Award Watch List members include:

Ronald Blair – Appalachian State – Defensive End
J.T. Boyd – East Carolina – Guard/Center
Brandon Chubb – Wake Forest – Linebacker
Tylor Harris – Wake Forest – Defensive Tackle
Montese Overton – East Carolina – Linebacker
Caleb Peterson – North Carolina – Guard
Matt Skura – Duke – Center
Zeek Bigger – East Carolina – Linebacker
Ike Harris – East Carolina – Tackle
Landon Turner – North Carolina – Guard

Quick math shows that East Carolina has the most guys on the list from the local schools. All of those names, Harris, Overton, Bigger, and Boyd have already appeared on previous lists.

More from Old North Banter

Wake Forest and North Carolina have two members each. What is notable about the Tar Heels on the list is that they are the two guards on the offensive line. The Tar Heels offensive line was the subject of criticism in last season’s play.

It is also notable that NC State and the Charlotte 49ers provided no names on a watch list that covers a number of positions on the field. For the 49ers, that is a product of being their first year of Division FBS play and the roster being full of unknowns. For State it is a recognition of the step or two that the defense was behind the offense last year.

As with all Watch Lists, the Lombardi Watch List is subject to change throughout the season before the Award is handed out. There is still time for a Wolfpack player to rise in consideration.