Duke Star Makes Naismith Trophy Midseason Team

Kyle Filipowski keeps adding achievements to his illustrious Duke career.
Rob Kinnan-USA TODAY Sports

The Duke Blue Devils' sophomore center Kyle Filipowski continues to rack up individual accomplishments in his young, illustrious career. After winning ACC Rookie of the Year and ACC Tournament MVP last season, Filip is nowhere close to slowing down. Naismith Men's College Player of the Year Midseason Team was just announced and Duke star big man is one of four ACC players to be mentioned on the list.

Kyle Filipowski Makes Men's College Player of the Year Midseason List

The Naismith Trophy is given to the most outstanding college basketball players of the year. Last year's winner Zach Edey headlines the 30-player team again this year. Edey is on pace to be the first back-to-back winner since Ralph Sampson did it for Virginia in 1983.

Filipowski is averaging 17.4 points, 8.3 rebounds, and 2.8 assists per game this season while adding an impressive 1.8 blocks and 1.1 steals on the defensive end. The 7-footer is currently seventh in the conference in points per game, while shooting 49.8% from the field.

He is joined by ACC foes Armando Bacot and RJ Davis of North Carolina, and PJ Hall of Clemson on the prestigious list.

The last Duke player to win the award was Zion Williamson in 2019. Not only was Williamson the last ACC player to take home the Naismith Trophy, but he is also the only freshman to do so since Anthony Davis in 2012. J.J. Redick, Shane Battier, and Jason Williams are the other Blue Devils to win the award since 2000. Duke remains the school with the most male winners with eight.

More Duke Blue Devils news and rumors: